Press Releases & Statements

Angela Maynard Sewall and Virginia McLaughlin Win AACTE Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education

For interviews, contact: Lisa Johnson Kiefer
202-478-4502 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(February 18, 2013, Washington, D.C.) – The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE) has named Angela Maynard Sewall, Ed.D., of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR), and Virginia McLaughlin, Ed.D., of the College of William & Mary (W&M), the winners of its 2013 Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education. The award, named after former AACTE Executive Director Edward C. Pomeroy, recognizes distinguished service to the teacher education community for the development and promotion of outstanding practices at the collegiate, state or national level. It will be presented on February 28 at AACTE's 65th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla.

AACTE's Committee on Professional Preparation and Accountability, which reviews submissions for the award, chose to recognize two winners this year, as both have made exceptional contributions to AACTE, to national and state organizations involved in teacher education, and to the development of exemplary teacher education initiatives.

Dr. Sewall is the dean and a professor in the College of Education at UALR. She is widely recognized in Arkansas for her contributions to the education community. Her expertise in school law and also in the area of desegregation is sought after by other districts across the state and nation. Her pursuit of knowledge in all aspects of education policy and accreditation and her dedication to excellence in education makes her an admirable winner for the Pomeroy Award.

"Dean Sewall has earned this honor for her outstanding leadership in teacher education," said Joel E. Anderson, Ph.D., Chancellor of UALR. "During her tenure at UALR, Dean Sewall set a standard of excellence among the faculty in the College of Education. That same commitment to excellence can be seen throughout her more than 40 years in the field of education, from her time as a teacher in the Little Rock School District to her work in higher education. Dean Sewall has made a mark on teacher education at the state and national levels through her service on the boards of AACTE, the Reading Recovery Council of North America, and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education Executive Board. The Pomeroy Award is well-deserved recognition of Dean Sewall's distinguished career in teacher education."

Dr. McLaughlin is dean of the School of Education at W&M (VA). During her 40-year career in the field of education, Dr. McLaughlin has provided leadership and participated in a wide variety of educational endeavors at the local, state, and national level.  She possesses a strong record of leadership in the state of Virginia that reveals the support and confidence the educational community holds for her. In addition, her work at the national level with a strong focus on teacher preparation has also served to advance the field of education greatly.

"Dean Ginnie McLaughlin has had a most impressive career in teacher education," said Michael Halleran, Ph.D., provost of W&M. "A superb teacher and researcher in her own right, she has served for eighteen years as Dean of our School of Education and leaves behind several important legacies. Two-thirds of the current faculty were hired by Dean McLaughlin, and their commitment to our students, outstanding accomplishments as researchers and scholars, and contributions to the K-12 community reflect her high standards, excellent judgment, and inspirational leadership. Dean McLauglin has also been instrumental at the regional and state level, connecting the School of Education even more fully with the local districts and in serving on the State Board of Education.  Ginnie McLaughlin is a most worthy recipient of the Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions To Teacher Education, and I am delighted to see her sustained high level of achievements recognized in this way."

For more information on AACTE's 2013 award winners, visit


AACTE: Serving Learners
The American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education is a national alliance of educator preparation programs dedicated to the highest quality professional development of teachers and school leaders in order to enhance PK-12 student learning. The 800 institutions holding AACTE membership represent public and private colleges and universities in every state, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and Guam. AACTE's reach and influence fuel its mission of serving learners by providing all school personnel with superior training and continuing education.

Colleges of Education: A National Portrait

Attention AACTE’s major new report, Colleges of Education: A National Portrait, provides a comprehensive picture of today’s schools, colleges, and departments of education.

Download Full Report
Download Executive Summary